Membership Resources

Scholarship Opportunities

IHSA members seeking scholarship have multiple options available. Students can apply for scholarships through the Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation (IEF). Additionally, students have the opportunity to use their horsemanship knowledge to earn a scholarship.

Thankyounotes copy



The IEF awards multiple scholarships each year to deserving students. Winners are announced in conjunction with the National Championship Horse Show. In addition to the general IEF Scholarships, the IEF manages two named awards:

The Jack Fritz Memorial Award is a national scholarship named in honor of the legendary horseman and scholar Jack Fritz who co-founded the IHSA while a professor at Fairleigh Dickinson University with then-student, Robert Cacchione. 

The Emily Jane Hilscher Memorial Award was created in memory of Hilscher, a 19-year-old freshman studying veterinary science, who was among the victims of the rampage at Virginia Tech in 2007. From Woodville, Virginia she was a horsewoman, animal lover, enthusiastic cook and imaginative artisan. She was a member of the IHSA, competing with the Virginia Tech Equestrian Team.

Application deadline is February 21, 2020

2020 IEF Scholarship Information

2019 IEF Scholarship Award Winners


Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship - The IEF invites coaches to nominate a rider from their team in honor of the late Jon Conyers. The nominee must be a freshman or sophomore in his or her first year competing in Walk-Trot, Beginning Horsemanship, Walk-Trot-Canter or Intermediate Horsemanship; be a full-time IHSA undergraduate member in good standing; display a passion for horses, strive for excellence and demonstrate financial need. Conyers competed as an undergraduate IHSA rider, instructed and coached for numerous college programs; served as a member of the IHSA board of directors for many years in a variety of capacities, including as a regional president, zone chairperson, director of alumni, director-at-large and National Horse Show manager.

Nomination deadline is February 21, 2020

2020 Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship Information

2020 Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship Application

2019 Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship Winner

The Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship  - This award was established in honor of Bob Anthony, a legendary horseman and NRHA Hall of Fame inductee. Anthony was a competitor, trainer, and judge who won six NRHA World Championships. Coaches should nominate a rider from their team. The student must be a full-time undergraduate IHSA member in good standing, compete in Open Reining throughout the year and demonstrate financial need. 

Nomination deadline is February 22, 2020

2020 Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Information

2020 Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Application

2019 Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Winner


Teresa L. McDonald IHSA Scholarship Challenge is a free online test covering non-discipline-specific, general horsemanship topics and is open to all IHSA undergraduate members. The award is sponsored by EQUUS. The timed test consists of 50 questions from the United States Hunter Jumper Association (USHJA) Study Guide. The test is available for online for two weeks. The participant with the top score from each Zone is invited to compete in a practicum phase at the IHSA Nationals, along with the next top four scores from across the country.The top-6 combined scores after the practicum win scholarships. All participants that complete the test receive a digital subscription to EQUUS magazine.

Teresa L. McDonald taught at Virginia Tech and was an active IHSA board member for many years. McDonald was also a founder of the Intercollegiate Dressage Association.  

2019 Teresa L. McDonald IHSA Scholarship Winners

2020 Teresa L. McDonald Test will be available online February 24 through March 6, 2020



YEDA sponsors the IHSA/YEDA National Achievement Award at the 2020 IHSA National Championship Horse Show.  This award goes to the YEDA alumni rider that achieves the highest placing in individual western classes in any IHSA western division.  In the case there are no YEDA alumni individual placing then the award will carry over to the highest placing YEDA alumni IHSA team rider.  YEDA will award that individual a $250 scholarship check.  In the case of tie, YEDA will raise the amount to $500 and it will be split equally between those members that tie. IHSA can use any fair tiebreaker to award the trophy.  To be eligible to receive the award, the YEDA member would have to have been on a YEDA team and competed for at least one season. The recipients of this award will be listed on the IHSA website.