The Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association Lifetime Achievement Award began in 1993 to honor members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, commitment, and exemplary service to the association.


Kelly Francfort is the head coach of the Rutgers University Equestrian Team, vice president
of the IHSA and serves on the board of directors. Photo courtesy of Kelly Francfort


“No one is more deserving of the Lifetime Achievement Award than Kelly,” said Peter Cashman, IHSA executive director. “She gives her all for this voluntary position. The organization has benefited from her diplomatic style and her leadership.”
Francfort is the coach of the Rutgers University Equestrian Team. Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, chartered in 1766, is one of nine colleges founded before the American Revolution. Francfort has been a member of the IHSA Board for over 20 years, serving as both a regional president and zone chair, and currently leads the public relations committee. In June 2017, Francfort was elected vice president of the IHSA. She also oversees the Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation, an organization that awards scholarships to deserving collegiate equestrians.

The Rutgers University Equestrian Team, which has a membership of around 45 athletes, has had success under Francfort’s leadership. They earned Regional High-Point Team honors five times for IHSA Zone 3, Region 4 and Francfort was named IHSA Region Coach of the Year twice. Under her leadership, individual members have routinely qualified for the IHSA National Championship Horse Show. In 2006, Francfort coordinated IHSA Nationals and that same year was awarded the IHSA Sportsmanship Coach of the Year.

Rutgers University has also acknowledged Francfort for her efforts. She served as a volunteer coach from 1992-2009 and was twice named Volunteer of the Year by Rutgers Recreation Sports. She was honored as a Loyal Daughter of Rutgers in 2011 by the Rutgers University Alumni Association. The Loyal Sons and Daughters of Rutgers are comprised of individuals who have made a meaningful and long-standing contribution to the betterment of the university by performing extraordinary volunteer service or who have made a significant impact on university life and culture.




Carla Wennberg
2018 Megan Taylor
2017Peggy McElveen
2016Lori Cramer
2015Patte Zumbrun
2014Eddie Federwisch
2013Sally Batton
2012Mary Drueding
2011Cindy Ford
2010Peter Cashman
2009Teresa McDonald
2008Jon Conyers
2007Nancy Peterson
2006Janice Callahan
2005Jim Arrigon
2004Olie Griffith
2003Anne Brzezicki
2002Jerry Steinmetz
2000Sue Payne
1999Naomi Blumenthal
1998CJ Law
1997Jane Flynn
1996Claiborne and Tom Bishop
1995Bob Cacchione
1994George Lukemire
1993Joan Johnson

IHSA Pioneer Award

The Pioneer award serves to recognize those who have been instrumental in the development of college riding programs and intercollegiate riding opportunities. 

Pioneer Award Recipients

2016JT Tallon
2012Peggy McElveen
2011Carole Gerrity
2006Dee Jones
2004Jon Conyers