

2020 USHJA / IHSA Regional Sportsmanship Award

The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association, in collaboration with United States Hunter Jumper Association has opened nominations for the USHJA/IHSA Regional Sportsmanship Award through March 15. One student athlete in each IHSA region will be selected for this award each, which aims to recognize exceptional sportsmanship exhibited throughout all levels of riding across the country. The winner will receive a prize furnished by USHJA, as well as inclusion in the USHJA online magazine.

Criteria of nomination: The USHJA/IHSA Sportsmanship Award nominations are open to any current USHJA/IHSA Hunt Seat member in good standing, regardless of their level or participation in shows. A nominee should be a student athlete committed to exhibiting exemplary sportsmanship, as defined as going above and beyond to support athletes from their own team and others, consistently providing help or assistance at shows or with community service projects that is beyond the average participation, and/or acting selflessly towards horse(s), rider(s), coach(es) or others in such a way that their actions reflect the highest level of sportsmanship the IHSA has to offer.

Nomination Process: Any full time student athlete, coach or college administrator in good standing may nominate a rider for the award by emailing a nomination, not to exceed 500 words, to their Regional President by March 15th.

Regional Presidents will promptly send all nominations to their RSEC (Region Standards and Ethics Committee) who will generate a list of no more than six (6) finalists by March 22nd.

The RSEC will present the finalists (no more than six) to all teams in the Region and each team (coach, or team representative) will get one vote, to be held at, or before, their Zone Finals. In the case of a tie, the Regional President will be the tie-breaker (if one of the tied nominees is from the Regional President School, the Zone President will break the tie).

The Region President will report the winner (along with their name, mailing address, and initial 500 word nomination) to Cricket Morris at <u>csmorris@averett.edu</u> immediately following the Zone Finals. All winners must be reported by April 15, 2020.

*Regional Presidents may choose an alternate timeline as long as winners are reported by April 15, 2020.